FlameThrowers Reveal 2017 Roster, Aim For Second Straight Division Title

February 17, 2017

Today the San Francisco FlameThrowers announced the first 24 players to their 2017 roster. The new lineup is headlined by the additions of two-time league MVP and three-time league champion Beau Kittredge, 2014 All-AUDL member Cassidy Rasmussen, as well standout playmakers Grant Lindsley and Mac Taylor.

San Francisco won the West Division last year with an 11-3 mark during the regular season, but fell to the Seattle Cascades in the divisional finals of the playoffs. The FlameThrowers are the only team to qualify for the playoffs in all three years of the West Division's existence. They finished last season with the number three ranked offense, averaging 26.6 goals per game.

Despite their string of successes, the team underwent a massive overhaul during the offseason, bringing in 12 players that were not on last year's team. Kittredge and Rasmussen—the latter of whom played for the FlameThrowers back during the 2014 season—bring championship experience after winning the last two titles together in San Jose and Dallas, respectively; Kittredge, in fact, has won the past three championships, the first player in league history to do so. The will help solidify the FlameThrowers core that already features notable players Greg Cohen, Lucas Dallmann, and Marcelo Sanchez.

His first season playing in the AUDL, Taylor joins the FlameThrowers with one of those decorated resumes in ultimate history, holding multiple club and world titles. Formerly a teammate of Kittredge's at the University of Colorado—Boulder, Taylor uses his big frame to launch hucks and roam the open field in search of making big plays in the air.

Lindsley has previous pro experience, having played for the Minnesota Wind Chill during the 2013 season. Equally potent with or without the disc, Lindsley's utilitarian skill set on offense will be a perfect fit in San Francisco's schemes.

Grant Lindsley makes a jumping, twisting grab in a game during 2013.

Kittredge and Rasmussen will be joined by former San Jose Spiders Lior Givol, Brett Petersen, and Vincenzo Vitiello. Petersen was an impact player on the defensive line for the 2015 Spiders team that won the championship, while Vitiello had a quiet-but-productive season last year in San Jose with 34 scores (13 assists, 21 goals).

Brett Petersen gets a big layout goal against the Toronto Rush during the 2015 semifinals.

Below is the full roster with names and jersey numbers. Bold indicates that the player did not play for the FlameThrowers during the 2016 season.

Name Number
Lior Givol 0
Kevin Cocks 2
Jordan Marcy 3
Vincenzo Vitiello 4
Joel Schlachet 6
Devon Williams 7
Patrick Baylis 8
Cassidy Rasmussen 9
Brett Petersen 10
Michael Spear 13
Justin Lim 14
Andrew Hagen 16
Sawyer Thompson 17
Greg Cohen 18
Byron Liu 21
Marcelo Sanchez 22
Antoine Davis 23
Grant Lindsley 26
Nathan White 28
Seth Reinhardt 31
Sam Kanner 32
Lucas Dallmann 35
Mac Taylor 40
Beau Kittredge 50